Redefine the future of your organization with a competency framework

Long before RACIs add value to organizational roles, skills and behaviors need to reflect the desired organizational state. There’s a framework for that.

Organizational leaders charged with organizational role design and workforce planning as well as recruitment and performance management can benefit from re-skilling and up-skilling talent management for IT organizations.

Three of the primary advantages to utilizing a framework for IT skills management are 1) defining organizational roles with standard skills, 2) mapping existing roles to standard organizational IT roles, and 3) measuring skills gaps.

Reference architecture can improve how business relationship managers deliver business capabilities. Process models assist in the visualization of interaction inputs and outputs. RACI (which is an acronym for responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) can add clarity around ownership of activities. These tools add value under specific constraints and contexts. They’re tactical. They don’t solve strategic problems.

Getting strategic requires that we validate or build in common languages to define skills, abilities, and expertise. Standardization of skills improves consistency. By removing ambiguous or confusing language (and jargon), we’re left with the essence of the role.

One of the most widely used skills frameworks is the Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA), pronounced “Sofia.” This framework describes 97 skills and 344 tasks—aligned to skill level—required by professionals in roles involving information and communications technology.

Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA)

The Skills Framework for the Information Age provides a common reference model to define skills and responsibilities—not roles. SFIA 6 was released in July of 2015 and defines a framework to expand professional IT skills with competency levels and generic levels of responsibility. SFIA 6 defines seven levels of responsibility:

  • Level 1: Follow
  • Level 2: Assist
  • Level 3: Apply
  • Level 4: Enable
  • Level 5: Ensure, advise
  • Level 6: Initiate, influence
  • Level 7: Set strategy, inspire, mobilize

The goal of the levels of responsibility is, first, to reflect experience and competency with the designated level, and, second, provide generic levels of responsibility for each level:

  1. Autonomy
  2. Influence
  3. Complexity
  4. Business skills

The areas of responsibility are supported by six categories containing subcategories and skills:

  1. Strategy and architecture: information strategy, advice and guidance, business strategy and planning, and technical strategy and planning
  2. Change and transformation: business change implementation and business change management
  3. Development and implementation: systems development, user experience, and installation and integration
  4. Delivery and operation: service design, service transition, and service operations
  5. Skills and quality: skill management, people management, and quality and conformance
  6. Relationships and engagement: stakeholder management, and sales and marketing

You know your business model is changing. Read any source on CIO strategy, and you’ll find that the skills your organization needs today will be different tomorrow. You know this. What action have you taken this year to redefine how your team, department, and organization will be impacted? Use this step-by-step approach for organizational competency analysis:

  1. Identity the job category.
  2. Find the job subcategory.
  3. Reference the skills in the subcategory.
  4. Develop a competency profile.
  5. Compare staff to the target competency profile.
  6. Determine staff skills gaps.

The archetype of the SFIA framework has several core elements. These elements, together, form the foundation of the SFIA framework as well as SFIAplus (an extended version of the framework):

  • Category, subcategory: skill groupings for ease of reference
  • Skill: recognizable area of IT competence
  • Skill resource: details topics related to the skill
  • Code: reference for rapid skill identification
  • Level: the degree of responsibility that an IT practitioner exercises
  • Task: a skill aligned to a specific level
  • Task components: components defining the task

Dare to think beyond today

Leaders, innovators, and organizational pioneers won’t be wearing t-shirts with the logo, “Change means action.” When we envision change agents, we often imagine strong A players who express determination and force in everything they communicate. Change leaders can also lead quietly. Orchestrating from the rear of the room, they coordinate decision points almost like the conductor of a symphony.

These agents could be leading an army of employees or inspiring a single mind to act. Who in your office is experimenting with your organization’s DNA? That person might be in the office next-door.

There’s one certainty as technology transforms our values, beliefs, and behaviors: Change agents are using competency frameworks to slowly redefine the future of work.

Previous articleWhy enterprise architecture maximizes organizational value
Next articlePushing the envelope of your digital strategy
Peter is a technology executive with 19 years of experience, dedicated to driving innovation, digital transformation, leadership, and data in business. He helps organizations connect strategy to execution to maximize company performance. He has been recognized for Digital Innovation by CIO 100, MIT Sloan, Computerworld, and the Project Management Institute. As Managing Director at OROCA Innovations, Peter leads the CXO advisory services practice, driving digital strategies. Peter was honored as an MIT Sloan CIO Leadership Award Finalist in 2015 and is a regular contributor to on innovation. Peter has led businesses through complex changes, including the adoption of data-first approaches for portfolio management, lean six sigma for operational excellence, departmental transformations, process improvements, maximizing team performance, designing new IT operating models, digitizing platforms, leading large-scale mission-critical technology deployments, product management, agile methodologies, and building high-performance teams. As Chief Information Officer, Peter was responsible for Connecticut’s Health Insurance Exchange’s (HIX) industry-leading digital platform transforming consumerism and retail oriented services for the health insurance industry. Peter championed the Connecticut marketplace digital implementation with a transformational cloud-based SaaS platform and mobile application recognized as a 2014 PMI Project of the Year Award finalist, CIO 100, and awards for best digital services, API, and platform. He also received a lifetime achievement award for leadership and digital transformation, honored as a 2016 Computerworld Premier 100 IT Leader. Peter is the author of Learning Intelligence: Expand Thinking. Absorb Alternative. Unlock Possibilities (2017), which Marshall Goldsmith, author of the New York Times No. 1 bestseller Triggers, calls "a must-read for any leader wanting to compete in the innovation-powered landscape of today." Peter also authored The Power of Blockchain for Healthcare: How Blockchain Will Ignite The Future of Healthcare (2017), the first book to explore the vast opportunities for blockchain to transform the patient experience. Peter has a B.S. in C.I.S from Bentley University and an MBA from Quinnipiac University, where he graduated Summa Cum Laude. He earned his PMP® in 2001 and is a certified Six Sigma Master Black Belt, Masters in Business Relationship Management (MBRM) and Certified Scrum Master. As a Commercial Rated Aviation Pilot and Master Scuba Diver, Peter understands first hand, how to anticipate change and lead boldly.