Home Self Defense Training Silver – Florida Concealed Carry Permit Class Semi-Private Class

Silver – Florida Concealed Carry Permit Class Semi-Private Class



The Silver – Florida Concealed Carry Permit Class Semi-Private Class course, offered by Safety and Force Instruction, meets the educational requirements to apply for the Florida Concealed Weapon License.

What you will learn?

This is a four-hour course for safe gun handling that is conducted in the classroom only with an additional shoot component. After this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Demonstrate basic firearm safety
  • Explain how safely store firearms
  • Identify how to safely store firearms in a home when it’s occupied (children, other adults)
  • Describe the fundamentals of revolvers and semi-automatic pistols
  • Demonstrate the fundamentals of marksmanship
  • Load, unload, and make a firearm safe
  • Understand how to clean and care for your firearm
  • Fully understand what safe and responsible firearm ownership means
  • Identify types of holsters and their benefit
  • How to properly draw and holster a handgun
  • Understand the benefit of various carry techniques
  • Describe types of ammunition and their uses
  • How to use and apply cover vs. concealment techniques
  • Explain the impact of firearms laws and Florida state statutes 493, 775, 776, 790
  • Name other states that recognize your Florida CWP (state reciprocity)
  • How to safely travel with a firearm (shooting sports, personal protection, hunting, etc.)
  • Internalize the physiology of violent encounters
  • Be exposed to situational awareness scenarios and when non-lethal force is a preferred option
  • Relate how readiness changes across the four stages of awareness
  • Apply the use of force scenarios and the challenges they present
  • Know the steps necessary to apply for your concealed firearms weapons license in the state of Florida

Students will not receive a course completion certificate until the range time requirement is satisfactorily completed.

Who is this course for?

This course is for anyone interested in having the ability to exercise their right to keep and bear arms. The primary reason is for students to apply for a Florida concealed weapons license which allows individuals to carry a firearm on their person concealed.

A secondary reason is for a partner or significant other to have the legal right to own and retain the firearms in the case the primary firearms owner is no longer able. This could be the result of an accident, sickness, aging, a temporary legal situation, or another condition that makes the firearm owner unable to possess a firearm legally.

Course materials and prerequisites

There is only one prerequisite for this course. Each student must bring a copy of their criminal history, validating they are not a convicted criminal. This report can be obtained (click here) at zero cost. If a student shows up for a class without this for any reason, they will forfeit their course tuition and be ineligible to attend the present course.

There are other material requirements for the course. While some shooting experience is always welcomed, zero shooting experience is where this course starts.

Course length

This course is 4 hours of classroom-style instruction and then 2 hours of range time.

What’s covered at the range?

The goal of range time is to get you comfortable firing a firearm. Firearms are tools like any other. However, when used correctly, act as an extension of yourself. This personalized training is designed to do just that–dial in on your natural skills.

  • Various stances
  • Grip placement
  • Breathing
  • Trigger control
  • Sight alignment
  • Sight picture
  • Multiple threats
  • Various reloading options
  • Malfunction clearing drills

What equipment is required for the course?

The student is not required to bring any equipment. However, the following equipment will be provided during the course.

  • Eye protection
  • Ear protection, specifically electronic sound amplification shooting protection

Credentials of instructor

The instructor has been using firearms for more than 25 years and has been a certified instructor for 18 years!

He has trained with experts in combat-ready techniques, including:

  • Defensive Firearm Tactics (tactical vs. situational awareness)
  • Krav Maga (hand-to-hand combat developed originally for the Israeli Special Forces – lethal practical techniques)
  • Modern Arnis (Philippine knife fighting) – everyday street/situational survival skills,
  • Military L.I.N.E techniques (used in military boot camps for all new recruits)
  • Lethal/non-lethal self-protection techniques
  • Several other combat/street-ready techniques

The instructor also holds the following active credentials

  • NRA Certified Home Firearm Safety Instructor
  • NRA Certified Pistol Instructor
  • NRA Certified Personal Protection in the Home Instructor
  • NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
  • MA State Police Certified Firearms Instructor (former)
  • IDPA Safety Officer

Who’s ineligible to attend this course?

If you fall into any of the following conditions, you will not be eligible to take this course.

  • The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
  • A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
  • Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
  • A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
  • A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
  • A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
  • Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
  • Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
  • Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
  • Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
  • Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
  • A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
  • Being a fugitive from justice.

Terms and Conditions

No refunds. All sales are final. No exceptions. This includes no rescheduling once course dates are set. Full payment is required prior to the course. No cancellation or substitute. No refund for a no-show.


Does this count as a required course for Florida concealed weapons permit application?

Yes, this course exceeds the training requirements for the State of Florida to apply for  Florida concealed weapons license.

How important is safety in this class?

It’s everything.

At any time, if a student is unsafe, the course will end immediately for that student. There are no refunds for unsafe acts. It’s a one-strike policy.

If a student acts, jokes, or shows signs of being unsafe for any reason, the course will stop, and they will be immediately removed from class. No exceptions.

Examples of disqualification:

  • Implying if someone insulted you, you’d shoot them
  • Point a firearm (model or real) at anyone for any reason
  • Speaking in a way that symbolizes an unsafe firearm owner
  • Any action that is deemed unsafe or unwise by the instructor

There is a zero-tolerance policy for unsafe acts with simulation firearms or real firearms.

Why isn’t this course $59.99 like a course I found online?

Our goal isn’t to pump out as many permit students as possible. Our goal is to promote the shooting sports, educate properly, and empower law-abiding citizens to exercise their right to keep and bear arms.

This requires more than the Florida legal minimum to do that. Additionally, we found that our students, whether new to defensive tactics or former military, are interested in the latest techniques for self-defense.

Also, this course gives students the ability to shoot various handguns and get some great experience shooting and a feel for what’s most comfortable to carry.

Are there general classroom rules?

NO firearms in class. NO live ammo in class.

What is the typical class size?

The average class size is 3-4 students.

What do I get from this course, bottom line?

The ability and confidence to defend yourself, your loved ones, and assets under your protection.

I heard you can carry without a license now in FL. Why take this course?

It’s true that effective July 1, 2023, House Bill 543 went into effect amending various sections of Chapter 790 Florida Statue. This amendment allows persons in Florida to carry a concealed weapon or firearm without a Concealed Weapon License. Although a firearm/weapon can be carried without a permit, it must be concealed.

However, there are restrictions that a full FL Concealed Weapon Permit (CWP) holder does not have. Here is a list of restrictions that DO NOT APPLY to individuals with a CWP.

  • Can’t carry a firearm on your person in a car.
  • Can’t carry auto knives (autos or OTF).
  • Can’t carry in 37 other states with reciprocity (AL, AK, AZ, AR, CO, DE, GA, ID, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MI, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WV, WI, WY).
  • No Bypass NCIS check and have to wait 3 business days to purchase a firearm.
  • No benefit of cheaper firearms insurance.
  • If a firearms incident occurs, additional credibility you met state training standards.
  • Not allowed to carry non-lethal tools (like pepper spray, more than 2 ounces) concealed.
  • No additional form of ID.
  • No Fed. GFSZA (Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1990) protection extending 1,000 ft. from the perimeter of all K-12 schools in FL.
  • Negative jury perception: juries like to see that the defendant had a concealed weapons permit.
  • No police awareness of your legal right to carry.
  • If you are stopped by law enforcement with a gun, you will have to wait for a background check to be completed before you are allowed to leave the situation.
  • Some crimes related to carrying a concealed weapon in a restricted location are misdemeanors for CWP holders, while felonies for those carrying under the new permitless carry law.

Additional information


100 rounds